PokerJunkie > Poker Rules > Flush and kickers - rules question

Flush and kickers - rules question

8 January 2009, By:
Can an off-suit card be used as a kicker to separate two flush hands? We answer a rule question from one of our readers.



If there is a flush on the board, can an off-suit card in the pocket serve as a kicker?

/Oscar Vazquez, Fresno, CA


Hi Oscar

No. According to the poker rules, players can only use five cards to build their poker hand. Since a flush is made up of five cards, there's no room for any off-suit cards to influence it.

On the contrary, if there's a flush on the board, a card of the same suit in a players hand can give him or her a higher flush.

Poker Junkie

Latest News


Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.