PokerJunkie > Poker News > Timex Clips O'Dwyer in Closest EPT Player of the Year Race Ever

Timex Clips O'Dwyer in Closest EPT Player of the Year Race Ever

17 May 2016, By: compncards
The race for the Season 12 European Poker Tour Player of the Year not only came down to the wire, but was the closest in history.

Mike "Timex" McDonald edged out high-stakes pro Steve O'Dwyer for the POY by the slimmest of margins - less than a single point.

McDonald Cashes in Final Event of Season to Win POY Title

Heading into the final event of the EPT Grand Final O'Dwyer and McDonald were virtually tied for the POY lead.

O'Dwyer took the lead after finishing 9th in the €50k Super High Roller and then cashing in the €25,750 high roller. This gave him 3746.42 points.

Down, but not out, McDonald managed to put together a last-minute run to squeak through for the title.

First, he finished 10th in a €500 Hyper Turbo and then managed a 7th-place finish in the series ending €10K Turbo Six-Max Event.

After his cash in the six-max McDonald finished Season 12 with 3747.38 points -- a mere .96 ahead of O'Dwyer.

McDonald finished Season 12 with 18 ITM finishes, including six final tables and a victory in the €25,750 High Roller at the EPT Malta.

O'Dwyer has 14 total cashes and three total victories, including a €50k High Roller title in Prague. Ultimately, it was the average field size that allowed McDonald to squeak out the win.

The average field size in McDonald's events were 130 more than O'Dwyer, allowing him to make up ground despite having two fewer victories.

Miguel Silva and Adam Milewski Win Other POY Tier Titles

Technically, the EPT has three tiers for Player of the Year. McDonald took down the Platinum tier which covers all EPT events of all buy-in levels.

The other two tiers, Gold and Silver, were taken down by Miguel Silva and Adam Milewski.

The Gold tier POY title, consisting of events with a buy-in of $3k or lower, went to Silva. He edged out Italy's Walter Treccarichi by a solid margin to win the second-tier POY title.

Milewski and Raiden Kan battled for the Silver tier title with Milewski winning by just over 1 point. The Silver tier covers the low buy-in events of $600 and under.

The EPT is one of the only tours to offer a multi-tier Player of the Year system. It allows for players of all bankroll limits to compete for a "best player" title, not just those that can afford or secure the backing to play the high buy-in events.

Latest News


Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.