PokerJunkie > Poker News > Feature Articles > World Championship Poker (PS2/XBOX) Review -

World Championship Poker (PS2/XBOX) Review - PokerJunkie.com

9 April 2008, By: Pokerjunkie.com
User Review: World Championship Poker (PS2/XBOX) - Submitted by Dozer

Pros:

This game has a great custom character feature that surpasses most video games today. You can change the size of your nose, or the color of your t-shirt and give yourself the biceps you only wish you had. The online feature is what makes this game worth trying - play in a quick sit 'n go tourney or join an open table and take everyone's chips. Wolrd Championship Poker offers 12 variations of poker including stud, draw and hold'em games. This game is available for Xbox, GameCube, PlayStation 2, and GBA.

Cons:

The music is bad. You can turn it off. I did thirty seconds into it. That's all I can say about the music without getting really nasty. The sound effects, on the other hand, are serviceable. A particularly stuffy dealer announces the action; her voice isn't obnoxious, but the delivery of the lines is somewhat flat and she really does sound like she has a cold. Your computer-controlled opponents offer the occasional remark or whoop, but for the most part it's a very quiet game. My advice is to put on the soundtrack from "Maverick" or any country CD you may have on hand for background music, as there's little else to listen to.

There is one major flaw to the game, and that is a lack of offline multiplayer. Admittedly, this is probably a result of the difficulty in making sure players don't cheat by looking at their buddies' hands, but it's not like it would have killed them to make an effort. Crave could probably have made a killing had they included at least some kind of multiplayer game-- even if it wasn't poker, maybe basic blackjack, for example. But they didn't. As it stands, the game's best for the poker pro in your life who tends to watch the tournaments alone.

Conclusion:

This game is worth buying if you play PS2 or Xbox online and you would like to try something other than online cardrooms. Move from the computer to the couch and prove your skills.

 

User Comments:

Posted by DC80 on Feb 11, 2005 - 12:16 PM
My score: 1.5

I'm going to have to disagree with you totally on this one Dozer... I think that the actual game is horrible. The graphics are bad and the character formation is nothing special. Also no one can play truthfully against the AI on the game because it is awful. I say that online poker is much better and you should deposit 20 dollars on Pokerstars rather than purchasing this game.

Posted by dueceswild_3 on Feb 28, 2005 - 10:40 PM
My score: 5

Its not a bad game to me but i find that the online gameing is somewhat dull and boring. Dont know if thats jus me or not? Other wise not to bad. But not to great.

Posted by Ace_Adams79 on Mar 08, 2005 - 09:33 PM
My score: 3.5

I own this game and I only bought it because I have an XBOX and have XBOX live.This game is horrible if you are playing against the computer,however if you play on XBOX LIVE with some friends its actually pretty damn fun.I use to get together with some buddies back when I was in high school and play poker with 10 bucks in change winner take all.This game takes me back to those days but without all the damn cigarette smoke.The XBOX live headset makes this game fun IMO. Just sitting around shooting the SH** is pretty fun and when you can throw poker into the mix its even better.You won't win any money playing World Championship Poker on the XBOX or PS2 but I think the more hands you play the better you'll be and this is a fun game to chill with some friends, chat and play some poker.7 out of 10 rating

Posted by Gromph on Mar 14, 2005 - 04:57 PM
My score: 3.5

Game is get since it lets you customize your player and play alot of different tourneys. GOod to get your feet wet.

Posted by memaster on Mar 17, 2005 - 05:52 PM
My score: 5

i actually love the game and am wondering if some of the games on there r real even if they r not they r fun

Posted by memmnoch on Mar 23, 2005 - 06:37 PM
My score: 2

i didnt liek it that much sorry =/

Posted by TheOneMatrix on Mar 24, 2005 - 05:42 PM
My score: 5

since its a game, it would be sotred values and the randomization of the cards would be repeating randoms or is it actually real correct shuffing. meaning the cards are not rigged by the computers.

Posted by gbpackrule7 on Mar 27, 2005 - 08:07 PM
My score: 4

I think this is a pretty good game and I like how you can use it on xbox live but in xbox live you dont have to save so when people lose a lot of times they just don't save or turn off their xbox.

Posted by tedh7 on Mar 28, 2005 - 06:55 PM
My score: 2.5

I think this game was fun for 20 minutes then it got really boring. i think it would be alot better if u played it online with friends thought and then it would be worth buying

Posted by theebesteva on Mar 31, 2005 - 09:47 AM
My score: 5

it is way to easy to get alot of money...save game do sit & gos all in first hand they call if u lose reload ur game if u win save and keep playing.... i have over 2 mill

Posted by theebesteva on Mar 31, 2005 - 09:51 AM
My score: 0.5

4got my score

Posted by jhutt021 on Apr 12, 2005 - 09:50 AM
My score: 4

I have an xbox and i was comtemplating buying this game, i wasn't sure what was so good about it but thanks to this post i know that i am going to buy it. The features sounds really cool and fun, I can't wait to play it. Thanks Dozer

Posted by yodoha on Apr 16, 2005 - 10:21 PM
My score: 3

Never tried it but its a ps game and i love ps games. I can probably play all night lol no matter wht game. and its poker how can u not play all day

Posted by Dodgrblu21 on Apr 18, 2005 - 01:18 AM
My score: 3

games not that bad if you have xbox live

Posted by jack2424 on Apr 21, 2005 - 04:54 PM
My score: 2

The only real thing i dont like about the game is i think it is way to easy. There is only 6 people at a table and when they go all-in they usually have nothing and when they a big hand they just check for call.

Posted by rj_riggs69 on Apr 28, 2005 - 08:07 PM
My score: 4

my brother bought this game awhile ago & he plays with friends on xbox live all the time. he really likes it. Personally i would rather play in the online rooms on the net.

Posted by duce_the_goose on May 16, 2005 - 01:39 PM
My score: 2

the game isnt fun. my friend rented it for the week and it really disappointed me and him, the graphics were lame like previously stated and it seemed to have a rigged feeling.

Posted by mythicshogonia on May 17, 2005 - 04:06 PM
My score: 5

As much as this game can get kinda boring, I just love the waysyou can make your character look. and i love all the different types of poker you can play, like crazy pineapple and tahoe, and super holdem. It is fun and once you learn the betting system of how the computer works, its easier to win and u can get a lot of money. it's fun if ya got a lot of time to kill.

Posted by RP_Buddha on Aug 16, 2005 - 04:42 AM
My score: 2.5

This game is not bad, but it wont help your game at all. It is like playing on the internet at time just your not risking any money. A Plus side to the game is all the variations that it has on it

Posted by xJamesBx on Sep 01, 2005 - 03:34 AM
My score: 1.5

I also have to disagree with you here Dozer.

When I play this, the AI is just horrible. Raising 25x the BB with 9Qo, then checking all the way through with two queens on the flop.

Everything else is all right, but the AI ruins the game.

Latest News

Comments

Post your comment

Comments

No one has commented on this page yet.